Medication Safety Officers Society

The mission of the Medication Safety Officers Society (MSOS) is to advance and encourage excellence in safe medication use by providing communication, leadership, direction, and education among its members.


ISMP to Hold Four Medication Safety Symposia at 2014 ASHP Midyear

In addition, to its usual pre-meeting 2 day Medication Safety Intensive, Cheers Award Dinner, and exhibit booth, ISMP will be conducting a record four medication safety symposia at the 2014 ASHP Midyear Clinical Meeting in Anaheim CA on December 8-10, 2014. The topics of the four symposium include:

  •  Improving Medication Safety in the Radiology Setting (Mon, 12/8 at 6:15 am with breakfast), 
  • Addressing a Trifecta of Overlooked IV Medication Risks (Mon, 12/8 at 11:30 am), 
  • Recognizing and Responding to Serious Safety Concerns with Subcutaneous Insulin (Tues, 12/9 at 11:30 am), and 
  • Improving Medication Safety in the Perioperative Setting (Wed, 12/10 at 11:30 am).

In addition, ISMP is conducting a session as part of the ASHP programming on "Improving Medication Safety: A National Perspective from ISMP" (Wed, 12/10 at 8:00 am).  For detailed schedule click on "Read More" below.

ISMP survey on the status of the Targeted Medication Safety Best Practices for Hospitals

ISMP is repeating a short survey to get a general sense of the current progress in implementing the 2014-2015 Targeted Medication Safety Best Practices for Hospitals. We would appreciate your participation regardless of whether you have or have not implemented any or all of the practices. You can take the survey by visiting: The survey will be open until November 30, 2014.

IMPORTANT: We have moved!

In June 2014, the Medication Safety Officers Society (MSOS) moved our website (as well as your existing MSOS user account) to a new web platform. In addition, we stopped using the Google Groups listserv and started using the discussion forum on the new website. Although the old Google Groups listserv is available for archive purposes, you will not be able to post (or respond to posts) on the old listserv. 

MSOS Events at Medication Safety Collaborative were a Success

The ASHP Medication Safety Collaborative from June 1-4 in Las Vegas, NV which MSOS was a collaborating partner, was a resounding success. Even more of a success was the MSOS member meeting, with over 60 in attendance, where we discussed our new website and listserv, coming out very shortly. We also discussed membership demographics, results of the credential survey, and got input on educational programs. The MSOS reception at Maggiano’s the following night, with 30 people in attendance, was also a successful social event for MSOS members.

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Google icon
LinkedIn icon
e-mail icon